Tags

, , , , , , , ,

may 2015 main

I will finally get to start reading as day one of Bout of Books is just a handful of hours from ending, but first I want to participate in a challenge hosted by Writing My Own Fairy Tale. She posed a handful of questions that I’ve answered below.

1. How do you organize your shelves?
My shelves are currently a bit scattered, but I try to sort by genre or theme. Dickens and Austen each have their own shelves. Hemingway and Fitzgerald share a shelf (good luck there). I have two shelves for Harry Potter, two shelves for Children’s and Young Adult, two shelves for nonfiction stuff, one shelf for monarchy-type books (primarily Tudors), and everything else that’s fiction tends to be one giant mess at the moment that I hope to fix eventually.

2. What is one of your favorite book that’s not in one of your favorite genres?
My favorite genre is literary fiction. Since Harry Potter is considered Children’s Literature, I’m going with that. Always.

3. What is the last 5 star book you read?
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. It’s pure gold for a Tudor period obsessed person such as myself. It can get a little dense, and if you aren’t familiar with the time period you may get lost, but it’s well worth the read regardless.

4. What book are you most excited to read during the read-a-thon?
I am excited to continue reading the comic series Saga, but for new stuff I’m most excited for starting Gone with the Wind. I’ve put it off for far too long.

5. What book do you recommend the most?
There are far too many to really think on this question. Most recently I’ve recommended All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay, and Citizen by Claudia Rankine the most. All brilliant and powerful for their own reasons. (I’d say Harry Potter, but so many people have read it now that I don’t have to recommend it much anymore.)

Feel free to share your answers here or link to your own posts.

