Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

toptentuesday

Welcome back for another round of Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can read more about Top Ten Tuesday and its previous topics here.

Up this week: Authors I Really Want to Meet

I’ve met many fantastic authors over the years including Roxane Gay, Margaret Atwood, and David Sedaris, so you won’t find those beauties on this list. You also won’t find any dead authors on this list. I don’t know if this is a hypothetical living-or-dead list, but I’m going with living to narrow the field.

Note: A few of these writers were previously mentioned as favorite authors. Read that post for more reasons as to why I love them.

1. JK Rowling
5wfIpv8
Hanging out with JK Rowling sounds like a good time. Like an amazingly good time. We’d have tea and discuss politics, magic, and humanity. I’d probably cry when the conversation runs deep. Or I would just say a simple “Thank you” and leave it at that.

2. Ian McEwan
mcewan
Ian will always be one of those writers I look to for guidance in my writing. I don’t try to mimic him, but he’s always inspired me. I’d probably improperly fangirl and scare him away, but it would be worth it for a moment of his time.

3. Edan Lepucki
03LEPUCKI-master675
Edan is one of those people I sometimes pretend I know because we’ve talked on Twitter. In other words, I love her work, and she’s nice to me. I want to meet her because she sounds snarky, and she’s a damn fine writer. I enjoyed California and her novella and can say I loved both. I recommend them if you haven’t read her work yet.

4. Celeste Ng
Celeste+Ng+(photo+credit+Kevin+Day+photography)
Celeste is another person I’ve talked to on Twitter. I tend to want to meet people who I feel like I already know (to a small tiny extent) online. I care more about relating to people, sharing humor, and being personable than I care about saying I met a famous person. Like Edan, Celeste sounds snarky, and of course I loved Everything I Never Told You.

5. Neil Gaiman/Amanda Palmer
AmandaNeil
I’m cheating and putting Neil and Amanda together since they’re married. (Sorry, people will do that to you sometimes.) Neil Gaiman is a literary genius, and I’m rather obsessed with Amanda’s Art of Asking book. Being in a room with these two would not only be inspirational, but humorous and an all around good time. There would be much singing and shenanigans.

6. Caitlin Moran
Caitlin-cover-pic1-680x575
Who the fuck wouldn’t want to meet Caitlin Moran!? Her stories are hilarious, she’s damn clever, and I love her choices in fashion. (I don’t love anyone’s choices in fashion. This is a big deal.) I look up to her for being who she is and loving herself. Too many people in the world are negative, and she challenges that with her “Here I am, world!” mentality. I don’t know her too well away from her writing, and I haven’t read all her writing, but I do know that we’d get on well.

7. Mindy Kaling
Friday
Mindy’s book is my entire life. Okay, not my entire life because our upbringings don’t match up and she’s a talented actress all over the place while I live in North Dakota. But somewhere deep down in her book, she gets me, and I get her. Isn’t that what people want? To be around people who just get them? I also think B.J. Novak and I would be best friends just like he and Mindy are best friends. That has to count for something.

8. Cheryl Strayed
Cheryl-Strayed
I just want to go on a hike with Cheryl Strayed and talk about life. Not a hike that stretches multiple states, but a hike nonetheless.

9. Samantha Shannon
1954453
Samantha is another writer I “know” from Twitter. We’re around the same age, write, love Sherlock, and have awesome fathers. That’s really all it takes to form a friendship. I would also enjoy talking more about her books.

10. Kazuo Ishiguro
Ishiguro
I saved the best for last. Like McEwan, I look to Kazuo for inspiration in my writing. I’d love to sit down and talk about the work-life balance and his books. I also appreciate the way he stands firm on his writing style and beliefs and knows when to take time for himself. Also like McEwan, I’d probably scare him away accidentally. It would be a short tea date.

